Coach what is it you can learn from doing fitness? Don’t you just run as fast as you can and give 100%?

I had a few kids at tennis camp today ask me this question “Well coach what is it you can learn from doing fitness? Don’t you just run as fast as you can and give 100%?

I found this to be an interesting opportunity to educate the group through a demonstration of someone jogging down and back and making some observations. After I had pointed out the various things I saw, their response was, can you do an assessment on me?

So my key take away, always educate your clients on the why of what you are doing? It will begin to make more sense to them and they will appreciate what you are trying to do for them and help them want to correct their posture along with potential muscle imbalances.

I focus a lot of my training on corrective exercise and slowly progress towards a client’s goals. The key to success when setting long term goals is to know the general path we are taking to get there and then to make adjustments as needed with continued explanation.

I am looking forward to helping as many people as possible reach their fitness/tennis goals in the future.

valgus knee photo from runningwritings.com

Leave a Reply

